Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Here is my second week of Good Deeds, a challenge I am taking one week at a time, with the intention of allowing it to grow and flourish into a full year, and perhaps beyond!

For the original post see:

https://wordsthatserve.wordpress.com/2013/05/26/a-week-of-good-deeds/

Monday 27th May

Had a long conversation with one of my students over lunch, giving it my full attention even though I was feeling quite stretched as the morning session had run over, and I wasn’t yet fully prepared for the afternoon.

AND good deed(s) received: A fellow blogger left a comment on my previous good deeds post saying she would join the fun! Hooray:-) Thanks so much… http://girlwiththepen1118.wordpress.com/

Tuesday 28th

I agreed for a South Korean teacher, who happened to be staying here in the community too, to join in on and observe one of my lessons. She wanted to see how I combine teaching English with personal development and spiritual topics. I also did a bit of cleaning and tidying in my colleague’s classroom, and called my friend Beatha in Rwanda as it was her son’s 5th birthday. Unfortunately there was no answer, so I will have to call again another day.

AND good deed(s) received: In an amazing story of synchronicity which I will share in more detail another day…a very treasured shawl, knitted by my mother, which I lost at least three years ago…came back to me!!! Another fellow blogger left a comment on my last post saying he too would join in…celebrate that!!! Thanks so much: http://mikeallegra.com/

Wednesday 29th

My good deed today was to return home briefly to connect with my garden, to give it a much needed watering, as well as a showering of less visible love and attention.

AND good deed(s) received: I received a beautiful, heart warming email from a dear friend.

Thursday 30th

I used part of my afternoon off to help cook a delicious traditional Brazilian dessert with one of my students, who brought the ingredients in his suitcase all the way from Brazil. I also picked up some litter on a brief walk, and gave the new teacher another hour of training and support.

AND good deed(s) received: One of my neighbours sent me a text to say she’d signed for a parcel for me. My teaching colleague arranged the chairs for the evening session without being asked or expected to.

Friday 31st

I helped a spider out of the sink with a glass and a postcard. I made time to have breakfast with a friend, which benefited us both. Seeing that there wasn’t enough after dinner Toblerone (chocolate) for everyone to have a piece, I chose that moment to get up and make tea, so that it would all be eaten/divided by the time I came back and nobody would need to feel uncomfortable.

AND good deed(s) received: At the end of a busy first week of lessons I received so much positive feedback, from students and colleagues…you know, the kind that just gets you…right there. Also felt very heard by my manager, who agreed not to extend the number of places available on the next course despite the fact we had ten on the waiting list, as I and others had shared that we believed the small class sizes we have are essential to the success of the program.

Saturday 1st

I continued to work in my garden and gave my flowers and veg more room to grow by freeing them from weeds. I took my neighbour’s seven year old grandson on a walk to the river for a couple of hours, so his grandmother could have some quiet time.

AND good deed(s) received: My other neighbour texted to say she’d seen me coming home but was now out, so I could let myself in and take my parcel from her kitchen table.

Sunday 2nd

I called ahead to the place where my students would be eating their lunch to make sure the reservation had been placed. It had not, so the cook was very glad I had called, giving him some forewarning of an extra 11 hungry mouths to feed:-)

AND good deed(s) received: Rosie, the woman who inspired me to start this challenge, wrote a comment of pingback and support:-) Thanks Rosie! http://rosieamber.wordpress.com/2013/06/02/good-deeds-week-26th-may-1st-june/  A friend agreed to drive a bus to a local singing event my students wanted to attend.

