Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Each week, I share one of the writing prompts used in my workshops, along with an example of what was written in response. Today’s prompt (we did it as a warm-up, so just 3 mins in total) is simply to connect with your favourite season, in that moment, and write about it. I chose Autumn, and this is what I wrote, unedited…

IMG_2368 (2)

Autumn is for abundance – bringing in and giving thanks for the harvest, the explosion of colour in the trees and the preparations as we prepare to move into the shorter days. Warm soups and open fires – new beginnings as school terms begin – and we come in from outside and begin to shift our focus inwards, for the light is becoming more golden and tired and the colder weather makes for brisk walks and buttoning up – it’s a transitional season when the intensity of summer’s joy and pace can slow down a little – we catch our breath and give thanks.

I’m reminded, as I type this up, of a song I wrote (wow, five years ago in turns out!) as I drove through a stunning Autumn landscape in the Scottish Highlands singing for my life as the beauty threatened to take my breath away, and not being able to take my hands off the wheel to write it down I had to repeat and repeat so I wouldn’t forget it…

I called it Colour My World…

 

Colour my world with the blue of the free skies

Colour my world with a rainbow of butterflies

Colour my world with the magic of evergreen

Colour my world with the silver of full moon sheen

Colour my world

Colour my world

Great Painter

 

*Chorus*

Beauty my world with all animals running free

Lighten my heart with the laughter that tickles me

Beauty my world

Lighten my heart

Creator

 

Colour my world with the pink cheeks of happiness

Colour my world with the grey on my father’s head

Colour my world with the soft white of feather down

Colour my world with the river’s rich peaty brown

Colour my world

Colour my world

Great painter

 

*Chorus*

 

Colour my world with the dark blue green oceans deep

Colour my world with the bright yellow blackbird’s beak

Colour my world with the red of the robin’s chest

Colour my world with the orange gold pink sunset

Colour my world

Colour my world

Great painter

Oh Beauty my world

Please Lighten my heart

Creator

 

What’s your favourite season?

 

If you enjoyed this prompt, then you can find more here:

https://wordsthatserve.wordpress.com/upcoming-writing-workshops-and-some-prompts-for-you-to-play-with/

and here:

https://wordsthatserve.wordpress.com/writing-prompts-the-elements/

 

 

