Tags

, , , ,

Each week, I share one of the writing prompts used the previous Friday in my weekly workshop, along with an example of what was written in response. Today’s prompt was our three minute warm up last week.  All you do is sit or stand comfortably, and do an internal body scan. In other words, pay attention to any thoughts/feelings/sensations as you move your focus from your feet up through your body to your head. We just did a three minute ‘scan’ followed by three minutes writing whatever came, but you could of course extend this.

Actually, I’d had another warm up in mind, but had had a brief chat with the woman who runs the building where I offer the workshop, and my mind had wandered, so I needed something to help me get centered and grounded again. Here is what I wrote:

IMG_2305 (3)

LOL – I spelled ‘soles’ wrong 😉

I feel spinning disks in the soles of my feet, and I can’t feel my toes. The socks and boots feel in the way – my feet are hungry for the feel of the earth and the weight of my body which they’re made to carry. They feel too light, too floaty, when I’m sitting. There’s not much to notice on the route up – until I reach my heart – a bit fast? Maybe my coffee was too strong. My neck feels thick and stiff and my head’s heavy, it wants to move and roll around, shift it’s weight, carry less.

 

I’m about to go for a walk with a friend so luckily my feet will have a chance to do their job again and feel my full weight for a bit after a morning of lots of playful thinking…

Take care of it all y’all; mind, body and soles/soul 😉

If you enjoyed this prompt, then you can find more here:

https://wordsthatserve.wordpress.com/upcoming-writing-workshops-and-some-prompts-for-you-to-play-with/

and here:

https://wordsthatserve.wordpress.com/writing-prompts-the-elements/

 

