Each week, I share one of the writing prompts used the previous Friday in my weekly workshop, along with an example of what was written in response. Today’s prompt comes in two parts. (Allow 10-15 mins total)

Part 1 – Complete these four half sentences spontaneously and freely with the first words that come to mind:

As a child I believed I was here to…

As a teenager I believed I was here to…

As an adult I believe I am here to…

The most important thing life has taught me about why I’m here is…

Now, allowing 10 minutes, write a poem in four distinct parts/stanzas, with each stanza expressing in some way, one of the sentences you completed. Here’s the poem I wrote:

 

You arrive complete

but with room to grow

so go, explore with curiosity

play with joy

and listen with kindness

for the whole world’s your teacher

***

I didn’t lie

there were no promises

are no guarantees

complete does not mean perfect

so take care if you focus

on picking up pieces

for sometimes it’s the cracks

that let in the light

and we don’t need

to patch things up

or put them together again

***

Humour helps

when digesting humble pie

and do digest it

don’t hold on

to what was intended

to lighten you

knock off some rough corners

sharp edges that get you stuck

make you prickly –

digest, rest, soften

and you’ll rise up

expand out

become the rainbow

not just a single favourite colour

***

keep asking the questions

but not to build solidity

rather to nourish curiosity

the questions

are far more important

than the answers

so be responsive

not conclusive

the nature of life is change

life lives through you

so you must continue

to adapt and change too

 

And speaking of questions, I’d like to share another ‘prompt’. This was super simple, our last prompt of the session, and I told people before introducing it that we would not be reading aloud what we eventually wrote, but the stimulus would be a gathering of questions. We each had a piece of paper, wrote a question on it, then passed it to the right and the next person could read what had already been written, and then wrote a question of their own, and passed it on. When we received our original sheet of paper back we read through the questions and placed the sheet silently in the centre of our circle, along with the others, and began to write whatever came in response. I will not share what I wrote, but I would like to share the questions we gathered, because I found them so moving, and so beautiful:

If you enjoyed this prompt, then you can find more here:

https://wordsthatserve.wordpress.com/upcoming-writing-workshops-and-some-prompts-for-you-to-play-with/

and here:

https://wordsthatserve.wordpress.com/writing-prompts-the-elements/

 

 

 

 

 

 

