Tags

, , , , , ,

Welcome to GLADvent day Fifteen! Yesterday we had the word Gifts.

My friends are a gift, like when they (this morning) responded to my request for a pair of smart black shoes to borrow for our choir performance (this Sunday) because mine had ended up in the wrong car and are now three hours drive away:-)  I had two emailed offers within 2o minutes!

My family are a gift, like when Mum and I spent an hour or so wrapping and decorating gifts together to send to my sister and her family in Germany; like my father and our chats and the car he’s entrusted into my care ( and even allowed me to name 😉 ) while he’s back in Bali; like my aunts being so happy to have found me on Facebook etc etc etc

I’m surrounded by gifts given to me by others (books, clothes, paintings, jewelry etc etc), I’m filled with gifts graced to me by life (creativity, kindness, curiosity, intellect…) I’m drawn to gifts (the talents of others; like our choir leader Helen Yeomans, like the poet Kate tempest who was interviewed in the Guardian yesterday etc etc) and love to give gifts because a true gift gifts the giver as much as the receiver.

In case you’re interested, here’s an old post I wrote on this topic.

https://wordsthatserve.wordpress.com/2012/08/17/gifting-and-receiving/

 

And now, let’s find the fifteenth…

day-14-whole

…and take a sneaky peek at what’s on the back…

day-15-work

WORK: “The best way not to feel hopeless is to get up and do something.

– Barack Obama

Now take a moment to pause and reflect upon how Work has shown up in your life recently. Do you enjoy the work for which you are paid? What is your sense of ‘the work’ you’re here on this planet to do? What do you perceive to be our collective ‘work’ as a human family right now?

day-15-whole

Fifteen stockings turned! 🙂 Hope to see you tomorrow for number 16.

Do continue to share your thoughts and reflections in the comments section below as you wish…

 

