Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Welcome to GLADvent day Fourteen! Yesterday we had Imagination.

There is so, so, sooooooo much I could say on this! Imagination is my life blood, it’s my most precious possession, a gift I am deeply grateful for, and it’s as wild and alive now as it ever was…because I recognize and respect its value.

Briefly, most recently, I offered the following Imagination prompt at the last writing workshop I held. Each participant was given a piece of paper, and asked to write a name at the top of it. This would be the name of a character we were going to create together. Then they passed it to the left. The next person was asked to write an age, the next an occupation, the next positive qualities, the next a secret…you could use as many of these aspects of character as you wish. We then read the lists aloud – to MUCH laughter – and hey presto we had imagined up five juicy characters! Then we each began a story where that character was central, and wrote for ten minutes. The results were utterly astounding. I’ll see if I can dig mine out and share it another day.

And while we’re on this topic I’d also like to share this AMAZING Ted talk. I’ve probably shared it before, but it’s well worth seeing again anyway. Never fails to make me laugh out loud AND go all soft and gooey at the same time. Brilliant ideas, superbly delivered:

And so to the fourteenth…seek!

day-13-whole

And turn it over to see what’s on the back…

day-14-gifts

GIFTS: “A wonderful gift may not be wrapped as you expect.

– Jonathan Lockwood Huie

Now take a moment to pause and reflect upon how Gifts have shown up in your life recently. Were they beautifully wrapped to tempt you, or well hidden to make you do some work? What do you find more pleasurable? To give or to receive gifts? What gifts/talents do you have inside you, and have they already been unwrapped, or are they still waiting to be revealed…

day-14-whole

Fourteen stockings turned! 🙂 Hope to see you tomorrow for number 15.

Do continue to share your thoughts and reflections in the comments section below as you wish…

 

