Tags

, , , , , , ,

Welcome to GLADvent day Thirteen! Yesterday we had The Senses.

 

I’m a very visual person generally, relying a lot on sight to take in and process information, so it’s good for me to engage my other senses, which I sometimes make a point of doing consciously to bring more balance. Smell however, is the sense that can take me by surprise most powerfully. When I smell particular bonfires or cooking fires outside, I find myself remembering being in Rwanda; when I smell certain good quality fresh thyme or olive oil, I’m back in Crete. I can travel in an instant through the sense of smell.

Last year I prepared Senses Stockings as gifts for my family. In each stocking was a small gift for each sense, examples being a book for sight, an edible treat for taste, a CD for listening, a scarf/gloves for touch and soap/incense for smell. It was such fun to gather the different elements.

Speaking of stockings, we now seek the thirteenth…but where…?

day-12-whole

And now let’s flip that stocking and see what we’ve got…

day-13-imagination

IMAGINATION: “Imagination is more important than knowledge.

– Einstein

Now take a moment to pause and reflect upon how Imagination has shown up in your life recently. Do you have a tendency to daydream? Is it easy for you to lose yourself in a book or a film, or do you perhaps create these yourself? Do you use visualization as a technique for self-awareness or goal setting?

 

day-13-whole

 

Thirteen stockings turned – lucky for all I hope! 🙂 See you tomorrow for number 14.

Do continue to share your thoughts and reflections in the comments section below as you wish…

