Tags

, , , , , , ,

Welcome to GLADvent day Ten! Yesterday we had the word Beauty.

My mother is here visiting, and Beauty is a word I strongly associate with Mum. She is incredibly creative, and has made so many beautiful things for me over the years, mostly knitted or crocheted, but also sewn – and yesterday, we found some really beautiful fabric which apparently she’s going to turn into something beautiful for my Christmas present:-)

Beauty is also a word that is synonymous with nature for me; the reflections on the slow flowing river as I walk into town, crushing beneath my feet leaves of every hue. Sometimes that kind of alive, raw, simple, untainted beauty brings tears to my eyes and takes my breath away quite literally. It opens me, softens me, unintentionally reflects back at me the generosity and sacredness of a world that refuses to stop producing intricate, delicate, vibrantly coloured flowers no matter how ugly some human behavior has become. That beauty loves being acknowledged and seen, and it brushes us with its sheen when we do:-)

And so, to the tenth stocking…but where…?

day-9-whole

Well spotted 😉 So, let’s have a peek…

day-10-family

FAMILY: “You don’t choose your family. They are God’s gift to you,

as you are to them.

– Desmond Tutu

Now take a moment to pause and reflect upon how Family has shown up in your life recently. Is this a particularly family focused time of year for you? Any new/recent additions, or are there friends you consider ‘honorary family’? Any particular traditions or rituals that happen in your family during this season?

day-10-whole

Ten stockings turned! 🙂 Hope to see you tomorrow for number 11.

Do continue to share your thoughts and reflections in the comments section below as you wish…

