Beatha and her Boys

DSCF0614

https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/for-the-health-and-education-of-my-rwandan-friends/x/9801530#home

Thanks to all of you who have visited this campaign. If all of those visitors had pledged 5 pounds then I would have raised 120 already, over 10% of my goal. If you’re reading this, please consider getting this campaign off the starting blocks.

I opened this campaign because I’d just spoken to Beatha, in our funny mixture of Kinyarwanda and French which I’m sure few others could make any sense of, and she told me the last money I sent had run out a week earlier. There was no money for food or her medical treatment, let alone school fees. Food, shelter and health needs have to be met before education can be successful. If a child is hungry, their capacity to learn decreases. If a child is ill they will miss days of school, or not fully benefit if they do force themselves to turn up. If…

View original post 317 more words

