Tags

, , , , , , , ,

“For last year’s words belong to last year’s language
And next year’s words await another voice.
And to make an end is to make a beginning.”

(Little Gidding)
T.S. Eliot

tseliotImage credit: http://www.southbankcentre.co.uk

Week 33 and 2014 has begun(!!!), so a week of endings and beginnings all in one, and this will be short and sweet because I’m driving my brother about 500 miles back down to England tomorrow, so I need to get a good night’s sleep ready for a 6am start.

https://wordsthatserve.wordpress.com/2013/08/21/to-be-humble/

My ongoing and ever increasing thanks to…

http://rosieamber.wordpress.com

the inspiration for these posts.

For other Good Deeds posts I’ve written, including the original, please check out:

https://wordsthatserve.wordpress.com/good-deed-weeks/

Sunday 29th December

Sang my heart out at a community Taize singing session. Picked up a friend who was going to spend some time with Mum and I being creative. I helped teach her to crochet.

AND good deed(s) received:

Mum cooked us all a delicious bean chilli, and my friend lent us a great film.

Monday 23rd December

Gave the whole house a good clean, and cooked lunch for my brother. Finished off a pair of slippers as a present for my friend who I was meeting that afternoon. Performed the cup song, complete with actions, with said friend…to a small, but appreciative audience (of 4!) in our community centre:-)

AND good deed(s) received:

The delightful company of my all singing all smiling friend, and her lovely husband. We went for a walk, drank tea, talked books…and I was even invited to spend a couple of weeks with them so I could write while they’re out working during the day. They’re both so enthusiastic and encouraging about my writing – which is very appreciated:-)

Tuesday 31st December (New Year’s Eve)

Brought a spare mobile phone I’d been sent free by my provider to give to a student of mine, who’d recently lost his phone. Consciously chose to buy my petrol at a small local station, instead of the BP one in town.

AND good deed(s) received:

I was invited to hold a creative writing session for a group of guests in our community in February. Received lots of lovely New Year’s Eve messages and well wishes.

Wednesday 1st January 2014!

Wished a Happy New Year to the birds and sheep I met on my walk to greet the River near us (I call her Sister flow) and wish her all the best for 2014. Caught up with some emails I was behind on.

AND good deed(s) received:

During my walk the beauty of nature I encountered gifted me a poem which was enjoyed and appreciated when I later shared it here. A neighbour popped round with a bottle of Baileys and some ice to share.

Thursday 2nd January

Wrote a long email to a friend I’d been waiting to reply to, as she’d written me a lovely email several days earlier.  Helped Mum prepare an invoice for her work in the community kitchen, and cooked ‘toad in the hole’ especially for my brother, something I haven’t cooked for YEARS! It turned out pretty well – he enjoyed it anyway, which was the most important thing.

AND good deed(s) received:

A lovely New Year email from a friend, and a very appreciative response from a woman whom I’d sent the poem too, and invited to join an upcoming writing workshop I’ll be leading.

Friday 3rd January

Visited a friend I hadn’t seen since before Christmas – it was lovely to catch up. Promised the man whose wife I care for that I’d get the details of my Mum’s car insurance company as he is very unhappy with the company he’s currently with, and wants to change.

AND good deed(s) received:

Got lots of sweet smiles and giggles from my friend’s baby son, it’s so precious to feel recognised and fondly remembered:-)

Saturday 4th January

Made lunch for my brother and I and later drove him over to my Mum’s Creperie, where she was at work, so he could sample her food.

AND good deed(s) received:

Received the

Hope you’ve all had a great start to 2014 – and may it continue to bloom and grow with fun, grace, love and friendship. Have a great week my friends:-)

