Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

P1020993Found this message, ‘written in stone’, on the beach this week…

Week 20 and a very inspiring and instructive week, during which I took part in a conference here at the Findhorn Foundation on the topic of Forgiveness. There follow lots of links to the presenters and their work/books to give you a taste and, as I begin to digest the incredible richness and quality of this input I may share more…but feel free to ask for specifics, if there’s something particular that sparks your interest. It feels like this week was heavily weighted in the direction of Good Deeds Received, but I did my best to play my part:-)

May I again appreciate my dear ‘Good Deed friend’, Rosie, the inspiration for all these posts. Do go and see what she’s been up to this week.

http://rosieamber.wordpress.com

For other Good Deeds posts I’ve written, including the original, please check out:

https://wordsthatserve.wordpress.com/good-deed-weeks/

Sunday 29th September

Helped to lead the altos in a community Taize Singing session where there were many people who’d not sung in four part harmony before. Offered a woman I didn’t know, who was coughing, my bottle of water to drink from, which she seemed quite touched by, and accepted gratefully. I took over washing the dishes and cutlery after a very busy lunch, as I wasn’t attending the afternoon session and the woman who was doing it was going to be late as there hadn’t been enough people to help.

AND good deed(s) received:

For the last ten minutes of the singing the children of the community, and their parents, came and sang to us – it was JUST gorgeous, so touching.

”We are all like a hollow bamboo

open up your heart and let your love shine through”

A fantastic presentation by Robert Holden on the teachings of Forgiveness within the Course of Miracles.

http://www.robertholden.org/

Monday 30th September

I spoke up in a panel discussion about my new understanding of the importance of fearlessness as an aspect of love. I expressed how I now saw very clearly how not being afraid of another person’s pain is the most loving thing you can offer. It’s not necessary to understand it, or take the pain away, but just to stand there in the fire with them and let them know you’re not afraid. This honours them and allows them to be fully witnessed, giving mirrored encouragement to look for the strength inside them, and thereby empowering them. This was prompted by a talk given by Jo Berry whose father was killed in the Brighton Bombing in the 80s.

AND good deed(s) received:

Received a very special hug from a friend following a very intense and emotional presentation. I was tearful and received comfort as she hugged me and then, as the hug continued, I could feel the roles reverse, and I began to offer comfort and she received. It was a profound experience of how quickly love/compassion/comfort can fill us enough to be shared again when it’s offered so fully and unconditionally.

http://theforgivenessproject.com/stories/camilla-carr-jon-james-england/

http://theforgivenessproject.com/stories/jo-berry-pat-magee-england/

Tuesday 1st October

I guided a 75 minute writing session, with the purpose of supporting the participants in the conference to express what was ‘up’ for them in a playful, creative way. I spent a long time asking within what was needed, and what exercises/writing practices might be useful, because I was a little nervous. In the end it was a success:-)

AND good deed(s) received:

I was given a very useful insight into one of the key relationships in my life, and what would make it more graceful and mutually beneficial during a presentation by an amazing woman (Stephanie Mines) who has created a healing model to support the nervous system in stressful or shock inducing situations. The following speaker, a master of mindful mediation (Maria Arpa), modeled such incredible openness and lack of judgement that I was able to see those parts in myself that still think they are ‘right’, and need to be softened. Wanting to be where she was made me see for a moment the journey it would take for me to get there.

http://www.tara-approach.org/

http://www.mariaarpa.co.uk/

Wednesday 2nd October

During a ritual I supported others in their grieving, simply by being present, putting a hand on their back or an arm round their shoulder, and giving them my full compassionate attention.

AND good deed(s) received:

Was gifted an incredible opportunity to participate in a grief ritual held by an African shaman from Burkina Faso. It was incredibly beautiful and also gave me lots of food for thought as I considered our attitude to grief here in the West, and what I experience as our deep seated fear and mistrust of powerful emotion. As I grieved myself I had a very new and empowering experience which is hard to describe, but basically there was no complexity or psychological clinging, it was simply very physical and freeing, and left me feeling incredibly light and energised afterwards.

http://www.oliviermythodrama.com/aboutus.asp

http://www.sobonfu.com/

Thursday 3rd October

I ordered a book (which arrived today, hooray!) immediately following a very moving presentation about a man on death row in Texas. Proceeds from the book are going towards paying the lawyer who has recently succeeded in an appeal to request a re-trial. For more on this see the poem I posted too, along with links to books and Roger’s website,

https://wordsthatserve.wordpress.com/2013/10/03/consumed-by-love/

Gave a spontaneous mini English lesson to one of my regular students during the lunch break, helping her prepare a guided meditation for that evening. I guided another 75 minute writing session, to support integration.

AND good deed(s) received:

I gave a handwritten copy of the poem I’d written to the man who’d given the morning presentation and, even though he was carrying his lunch and I accidentally made him drop his fork, he gave me a hug, kissed me on the cheek, and called me an angel!

http://authors.simonandschuster.com/Pierre-Pradervand/61876833

Friday 4th October

I offered to host a conversation, during the open space part of the conference, on the importance of initiation and the lack of suitable coming of age rituals in western culture. It became a very deep and important sharing that gave those present the chance to express and discover experiences in their own lives with a new perspective, and also gave a couple of mothers opportunities to get advice and support regarding the needs of their sons.

AND good deed(s) received:

I was sitting quietly on the beach during a break and a dog came and stood close by, just present and witnessing very sweetly, not nudging or barking or licking. I gave her a good stroke and rub, and off she trotted back to her owner. Received the most wonderful hugs from sooooo many people, as we completed the conference and said our goodbyes.

Saturday 5th October

I made a point of guiding a beautiful butterfly, who had come to say hello but was struggling to say goodbye, out through a window and back into the fresh air. Cleaned my car and gave it some TLC, including vacuuming and checking the oil, as she and I will be picking up one of the participants in a creative writing workshop I’m leading tomorrow:-)

AND good deed(s) received:

Got a free book of poetry in the post as the result of a giveaway hosted by Templar Poetry on National Poetry Day, thank you!

http://templarpoetry.com/

Wishing you all a wonderful week dear friends:-)

