Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Week 19, and a week of breathing, relaxing and settling into a place of greater inner calm, clarity and trust. The stress and tension of the last month or so is definitely on the wane, for which I am grateful.

May I again appreciate my dear ‘Good Deed friend’, Rosie, the inspiration for all these posts. Do go and see what she’s been up to this week.

http://rosieamber.wordpress.com

For other Good Deeds posts I’ve written, including the original, please check out:

https://wordsthatserve.wordpress.com/good-deed-weeks/

Sunday 22nd September

Helped Mum and her business partner get through their second full day of opening their new Juice Bar and Creperie, including helping to clean up and pack everything away at the end of the day, ready for the regulars to use the place again Monday – Friday.

AND good deed(s) received:

Was given a fabulous piece of birthday cake by a friend, which she’d kept for me as I hadn’t been able to go to her party.

Monday 23rd September

Had to go out in my Mum’s car to pick up petrol for MY car (don’t ask) and picked up some fresh bread and a bit of smoked salmon (Mum’s favourite) on my way back. Even though I was EXHAUSTED (which I don’t say lightly) I managed to lead a very well received group games session for a new group in the community that afternoon.

AND good deed(s) received:

An experienced colleague very kindly offered to step in and lead the games session with me at the last moment, when the woman who was supposed to be working with me called to say she was unwell.

Tuesday 24th September

Spent some time reading and commenting and catching up with blogging friends. Cleaned the kitchen from top to bottom (as it had suffered a bit over the weekend!), and chopped up and froze the left over bananas so they wouldn’t be wasted.

AND good deed(s) received:

A friend delivered our winter wood (yay!) and stacked it in our wood shed, even though I’d told him I’d do that myself when I got back.

Wednesday 25th September

Returned a book a colleague had asked me to bring back, as someone else wanted to read it. Also returned the plastic container which had held the piece of cake another colleague had given me last week, complete with a thank you note to acknowledge the deliciousness and thoughtfulness:-)

AND good deed(s) received:

Received lots of laughing, good humoured forgiveness (!) from the husband of the elderly lady I care for, for the fact that I had forgotten a shift the night before! He’d had to help my colleague (we always work in pairs), but said he’d rather enjoyed it. I hadn’t written the shift in my diary – never happened before. A gentle nudge from the Universe that I’ve been going a bit fast, perhaps…

Thursday 26th September

Bumped into a dear friend who had recently put word out that she needed help taking care of a very special garden, so I volunteered to work there one morning a week. Cooked for Mum and I, and got a fire going, leaving her to enjoy food and warmth as we crossed on the garden path – her back from work, me going out to work!

AND good deed(s) received:

I was treated to both TEA and COFFEE in TWO different cafes by TWO different friends! Spoiled or what?!

Friday 27th September

Sent the monthly donation of money to my dear Rwandan friend Beatha. Wrote a loving email to a dear friend who hasn’t been receiving as much attention from me as she deserves. Wrote an email to a young author and brilliant poet who asked me to be part of a blog tour promotion. Go check him out

www.topazwinters.wordpress.com

AND good deed(s) received:

A  very kind librarian left her desk to help me get my crisps out of a vending machine! They’d become stuck, and she had a key. “I’m multi-talented, me” she said:-)

Saturday 28th September

Woke early to help my Mum load up the car with stuff for the second weekend of her Juice Bar/Creperie. Helped a spider out of the bath (just woken, and now there are two more spiders in the bath! Are these guys talking to each other…?) I arrived early for the introduction session of the conference and was asked by a friend to move the slideshow of inspiring quotes on every 30 seconds as, for some reason it wasn’t doing it automatically….naughty power point! So I sat there for twenty minutes, looking very important, and tapping a button every 30 seconds!

AND good deed(s) received:

Received a wonderful comment on my About page from a dear blogging friend who has had some of her poetry included in an anthology, as a result of an introduction I made – sooooo cool!

Wishing you all a wonderful week dear friends:-)

