Tags

, , , , , ,

As I flew back yesterday I was reading through a writing magazine I subscribe to and they’re running a Tanka competition, so I decided to warm up a little and wrote these three, all on quite different topics. If you want to know more about the form, check out this old post :https://wordsthatserve.wordpress.com/2013/02/08/form-friday/

Being in the air seems to bring on the need in me to write poetry. Perhaps I need to build a tree house to write in…

‘To whom do you bow?’

There’s a blush in the room then

Did I ask that aloud?

The palms you meet before me

scare me into expansion

 

 

Am I still breathing?

I laugh at the irony

but nothing else moves

frozen with fear I hate time

who, cruel, moves on without me

 

 

The day’s reluctant

coffee has replaced fresh air

sharp slap of caffiene

‘Who’s walking who?’ then they’d laugh

Where do dead dogs walk?

