Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Today is my sister’s 40th birthday – and this is my poem to celebrate her.

 

Brave and Bold

 

The gifts you loving give return ten fold

For through your thoughtfulness our lives transform

To fly the blazing emblem, ‘brave and bold’

 

In fear or joy your love my soul enfolds

And powers I had lost return reborn

May all the gifts you give return ten fold

 

Life crafted you from beauty’s precious mould

Adventures stretched, caressed you into form

By living it you taught me, ‘brave and bold’

 

A child arrived, I asked you, ‘May I hold?’

Into the role of mother you were born

May gifts you loving made return ten fold

 

Through listening to the stories that you told

Life guided my way home and to Findhorn

Where I began to live it, ‘brave and bold’

 

May all the roles and costumes you have worn

Be honoured on this day that you were born

And all life’s gifts to you return ten fold

For ever more, and always, ‘brave and bold’

 

