Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

finished-cracker-lg_A0

image credit: channel4.com

Red breasted feathered friend

Outside my frosted window

Bravely you come closer as

I smile and hold my breath

Not wanting to scare you away

Anyone else get bored with the tired unfunny jokes you find in Christmas crackers? Well I got a bit playful yesterday and had the idea of putting poems in the cracker instead, acrostics on a Christmas theme AND you put in a pen and an unfinished acrostic for the ‘cracker’ to write themselves…

(an acrostic is a poem in which the first letters of each line spell out a word or phrase: http://www.poetry4kids.com/blog/lessons/how-to-write-an-acrostic-poem/)

I realise it’s late in the day, and though I’ve written some poems I might not get round to turning the box of loo rolls I’ve been collecting over the last month into homemade crackers, but I had a lot of fun with this and so I wanted to share some examples.

…have fun!!!

Advent calendar doors ripped off or hang open

No chocolate to hide anymore

Gifts are waiting under the tree

Each one chosen, made, wrapped

Lovingly and with joyful anticipation of the

Smiles that follow the sound of paper ripping

 

P

U

D

D

I

N

G

 

Jingle bells plays

Every radio sings

Songs of joyful tidings

Under a star so long ago

Sweet child in a manger lay

 

S

A

N

T

A

 

Sleep newly escaped, I yawn

Newly fallen snow beckons

Outside the world is wrapped in white

Waiting to be balled up and thrown

 

R

U

D

O

L

P

H

If any of you do write one, I’d love to read it in the comments below…Merry Christmas Preparations All!!!

